I made a female dwarf and insisted that she have a beard, which I am then sure to RP. The DM tries to use revolving gender pronouns when talking/interacting with my character. I play with my 2 teenage (19 and 14) cisgender brother-in-laws.

About Mx. B

My preferred pronouns are: they, their, them.
Aside | This entry was posted in Eld and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. I ❤ D&D!! Don't all female dwarves have beards? Thus Gimli saying that most folks don't realize how many dwarf women there are because they look so much like the males…this led to soooo much debate between me and my friends over whether Gimli was really a female dwarf. Especially when the armor was too tight across the chest….

    Lots of love and light!

    Lucky

    • Eld says:

      Whether or not a Dwarf female has a beard is widely debated. In 3.5 D&D the dwarf race description says, “Dwarf men value their beards highly and groom them very carefully.” So while it doesn’t not specifically state Dwarven women wouldn’t have beards, it /does/ state that only Dwarf men value them.

      In Pathfinder it says, “Male and female dwarves pride themselves on the length of their hair, and men often decorate their beards with a variety of clasps and intricate braids.” I feel like there is more leeway here to include women, since decorating one’s beard is generally labeled a “female” behavior in Western society.

      I remember the mention in LoTR (which I loved) and this site talks about where the association came from. However, I’m don’t think it is an accepted “normalized” behavior, especially given that the “public” giggles or scoffs at such an idea. Dwarven women, double for those with beards, rarely get any publicity. Even in the site I linked to, it mentions Dwarven women don’t leave the clean unless in great need. Which I find to be odd in and of itself.

      There is also this youtube video which showcases various artistic depictions of Dwarven women without beards with lots of exclamation points and such stating that they didn’t have beards. So that’s kind of where I’m coming from.

      I love D&D too! I discovered GURPS recently and find it to be a solid system as well. Do you play often?

      • Unfortunately I do not have people in my little town to play with. When I am at my BFF’s house we can get down on some MTG and we may get to D&D but not often. Her daughter and I talk alot about it too. My niece is very gifted and her mama and daddy used to host tabletop games but not in a while. I may have to find a group somewhere to play again. I miss it. I used to do online text based RPG on Yahoo wayyyyy back when we could still make user rooms. That has been a long time too. All I got to show for that is a wonderful husband that I met in TBRPG who fell in love with my writing then fell in love with me before he turned 18. Of course I never knew that till he was 23 and I was 30. We have been married for almost a year now 🙂 Geeks in love 🙂

Leave a Reply

