Free TV – The Guild & Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog


(Video does have captions.)

Felicia Day has taken geek to a whole new level. While the show tends to be on the mainstream side, it still leans enough towards radical to allow me to fall in like. I found this show on Netflix’s instant watch and have followed the series ever since.

The story focuses on Codex, the Priestess of Knights of Good guild, who attempts to lead a normal life while juggling her guild and gaming commitments. Codex is the name of the avatar Cyd Shepherd (Day’s character) plays. The guild is part of an MMORPG called “The Game.”

I’ve never played MMORPG due to the fact most require a monthly service subscription that wasn’t feasible for me in the past. However, I did play on MUDs (or rather MU*s). MUDs and MMORPGs have the same premise, only MUDs are text-based and generally free to the public. Also, there is sometimes more storytelling RP in MU*s. Thus, a lot of what Cyd goes through I can relate. There is nothing like rushing through a meat-space engagement in order to get home in time for a guild meeting or a raid, especially when you have to explain your haste to those outside the gaming domain.

Right from the get-go this show had me. The first episode opens with Cyd staring at the camera saying, “So, it’s Friday night. And still jobless, yay! I haven’t left the house in a week. My therapist broke up with me. Oh, and yeah, there is a gnome warlock, in my living room, sleeping on my couch.”

What’s not to love about that? The best part is that this series is free. It can be found on YouTube and The Guild website.

Another super cool element? Joss Whedon says that The Guild inspired him to make Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog. For those that don’t know, Dr. Horrible is a three-act miniseries about “a low-rent super-villain, the hero who keeps beating him up, and the cute girl from the laundromat heโ€™s too shy to talk to” (from the miniseries’ Twitter page).

When it first aired, Dr. Horrible was free to the public. Now, however, it is available as an HD download (for $2.99 per act) on iTunes, or you can buy the DVD from Amazon. I’m sure, however, that a little Googling will reveal the show on YouTube. It can also be found via Netflix Instant Watch.

About Mx. B

My preferred pronouns are: they, their, them.
Video | This entry was posted in Eld and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free TV – The Guild & Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been a fan of The Guild for a while, too, and I’ve never played MMPORGs either. I’ll play the shit out of RPGs like Fable, though. I’m ashamed to admit, however, that my Xbox has not been even turned on in months. Oh, gaming – how I love thee.

  2. I adore The Guild AND Dr. Horrible!!! They are awesome!

Leave a Reply

